Vet becomes President of of Royal Society of Medicine's Pain Management Section

25 February 2019, at 2:53pm

Louise Clark pledges to raise the profile of the RSM as an educational resource.

Louise Clark, RCVS and EBVS® European Specialist in Veterinary Anaesthesia and Analgesia and Head of Anaesthesia at Davies Veterinary Specialists, has been appointed President of the Royal Society of Medicine’s Pain Section for 2018/19. It is believed that this is the first time the RSM Pain Section Council, which comprises medical practitioners and consultants, has appointed a veterinary surgeon as President.

The Royal Society of Medicine (RSM) is one of the country's major providers of postgraduate medical education and presents a neutral platform for informed debate about important, often controversial, healthcare topics.

The RSM has 56 Sections, encompassing all medical specialities. Membership of the RSM is diverse and whilst primarily catering for the needs of Medical Doctors its membership includes Nurses, Dentists, Veterinary Surgeons and other health professionals such as Physiotherapists. This multi-disciplinary input is a major strength of the RSM and allows a broad and challenging approach to the provision of medical education.

Louise Clark took over the two-year Presidency on 1st October. Her immediate predecessor was Dr Anthony Ordman, Consultant in Pain Medicine and founder of the Pain Medicine Clinic at the Royal Free Hospital, London.

Louise said: “ I am delighted to have the honour of serving as Section President and together as a Section Council we hope to build the profile of the RSM as a source of education for Veterinary as well as Medical Specialists.”

The next RSM event Explain pain: Music, motion and words will be held on 17th May 2019. For more information on the events that are not available online yet, or to book your place, please contact the Event Coordinator: 02072903937