RVC’s Senior Vice Principal recognised for professional achievement by The American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges

27 March 2020, at 9:00am

The American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) awarded several individuals, including Professor Stephen May, Senior Vice Principal at the RVC, with the AAVMC Presidential Awards for Meritorious Services at its March 2020 Annual Conference.

Professor May and fellow members of the Competency Based Veterinary Education (CBVE) Working Group were recognised during the evening for their special contributions, distinguished service and professional achievement.

Each member of the CBVE Working Group received the award in recognition of the historic work in academic veterinary medicine that has been accomplished by the group. Professor May is one of the two international contributors to this group.

Working together for five years, the Working Group has developed a CBVE framework of competencies, professional activities and milestones, serving as a model for educational excellence in veterinary schools across the country and around the world.

Professor Stephen May, Senior Vice Principal of the RVC, said:

“Content overload is a headache for those managing veterinary curricula. It drives superficial learning, paradoxically ’deskilling’ students and undermining their wellbeing. The only rational way to correct this is so-called backwards design: defining the required outcomes for graduates, verifying their achievement through valid assessment methods, and tailoring learning to supporting student success. This is key to the development of capable, confident and healthy professionals for the future.

“We were pleased to receive this recognition of our work, as it signals to all educational leaders the vital importance of radically reshaping veterinary curricula around learning outcomes, to ensure that veterinary professionals are well prepared to face the challenges of the 21st century.”

The 12 members of the CBVE Working Group include: Dr. Harold Bok, Utrecht University; Dr. Kristin Chaney, Texas A&M University; Dr. Jared Danielson, Iowa State University; Dr. Jennie Hodgson, Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine; Dr. Jan Ilkiw, University of California – Davis; Dr. Susan Matthew, Washington State University; Dr. Stephen May, RVC; Dr. Laura Molgaard, University of Minnesota College of Veterinary Medicine; Dr. Emma Read, University of Calgary; Dr. Bonnie Rush, Kansas State University; Dr. Kathy Salisbury, Purdue University; Dr. Jody Frost, consultant.